Cerebral Palsy Nepal (SGCP)

Our local partner

Self-Help Group for Cerebral Palsy, Nepal (SGCP) (www.cpnepal.org), is a non-governmental organization, established in 1986 and dedicated to supporting people with cerebral palsy and their families.

A complete rehabilitation service for children with cerebral palsy and their parents, as well as a school and vocational training centre, and a residential programme (Phulbari and Tusa) for families living outside of the Kathmandu Valley, is being run from their specialist centre in Dhapakhel, Lalitpur

Their additionnal community programmes help to reach many more children in need unable to visit the centre. Through home visitors, care centres, medical camps and other initiatives, over 1400 individuals and families in 19 of Nepal’s 75 districts are getting support.

Objectives

  • Providing children and adults with cerebral palsy with therapeutic and medical intervention, education and practical assistance so that they may live happy, fulfilled and independent lives as far as possible.
  • Empowering families with the resources they need to best support and care for their child.

How do we do it

A. at home : home visitor

Trained home visitors provide therapy, practical guidance and emotional support to children with cerebral palsy and their families.

They carry out therapeutic exercises with the child during home visits, but also train parents in carrying them out. The exercises may focus on the child’s communication skills, ADL (activities of daily life) or physical intervention. In this way, the programme supports the independence of children and their parents.

We support home visitors in several districts

B. In community schools : day care center

Economically, many families with children with cerebral palsy face a dual problem: not only is paying for treatment and support costly, but often parents must take time off from work to care for the child, affecting the family’s income. Daycare centres ensure parents are able to work during the day, whilst providing the child with the therapy and education essential to their development. Daycare centres teach children ‘Activities for Daily Living’ such as eating, washing, toilet-training. They are also provided with basic education. Parents groups and the community are essential to the running of daycare centres, with often mothers taking active roles. Together with SGCP we established and support several day care centres.

C. Residential Programmes: Phulbari (children from 5-14 years) and Tusa (early intervention 0-4 years)

Phulbari and Tusa are intensive one month-long residential programmes, that provide children and parents with the skills they need to achieve greater independence and quality of life once they return to their community. Together with SGCP we started, completely support and are directly involved in these programmes. Phulbari and Tusa deliver holistic medical, therapeutic and education training to :

  1. Children
  • are assessed medically and psychologically,
  • are able to benefit from Cerebral Palsy Nepal’s full range of therapeutic services : physiotherapy, speech therapy, basal stimulation etc,
  • are provided with stimulation and special education programmes, depending on their age and development
  • are provided with medication and/or special devices (corner chair, orthesis, etc) as needed.

  1. Parents

are provided with the knowledge and practical skills that will allow them to best help their child’s development once they return home. This includes :

  • therapeutic intervention : how to handle and stimulate their children
  • training : nutrition, hygiene, first aid, safe water, burn prevention, income generating activities etc.
  • networks : where to go for support in their district etc.

Regularly two groups of four children come from two districts, together with their respective home visitor.

  1. Responsible Home visitor

joins the programme and follows the children as well as gets further training

Cerebral Palsy Nepal (SGCP)

Notre partenaire local

Le Self-Help Group for Cerebral Palsy, Nepal (SGCP) est une organisation non gouvernementale, créée en 1986 et dédiée à soutenir les personnes atteintes de paralysie cérébrale (infirmité motrice cérébrale) et leurs familles.

Un service de réhabilitation complet pour les enfants atteints de paralysie cérébrale et leurs parents, ainsi qu’un centre scolaire et de formation professionnelle et un programme résidentiel (Phulbari et Tusa) pour les familles vivant à l’extérieur de la vallée de Katmandou, sont gérés à partir de leur centre spécialisé à Dhapakhel , Lalitpur

Les programmes communautaires permettent d’atteindre beaucoup plus d’enfants dans le besoin qui ne peuvent pas se rendre au centre. Grâce à des « home visitor », des centres d’accueil de jour, des camps médicaux et d’autres initiatives, plus de 1400 individus et familles dans 19 des 75 districts du Népal reçoivent un soutien.

Objectifs

  • Procurer aux enfants et adultes avec infirmité motrice cérébrale des interventions médicales et thérapeutiques, une éducation et une assistance pratique afin qu’ils puissent vivre autant que possible des vies heureuses, accomplies et indépendantes.
  • Donner aux familles les ressources dont elles ont besoin pour mieux soutenir et s’occuper de leur enfant.

Comment

A. À la maison : « home visitor »

Des home visitor qualifiés fournissent thérapie, des conseils pratiques et un soutien émotionnel aux enfants atteints de paralysie cérébrale et à leurs familles.

Ils effectuent des exercices thérapeutiques avec l’enfant lors des visites à domicile, mais forment aussi les parents à les exécuter. Les exercices peuvent se concentrer sur les compétences de communication de l’enfant, les activités de la vie quotidienne ou sur des interventions physiques. De cette façon, le programme soutient l’indépendance des enfants et de leurs parents.

Nous soutenons plusieurs home visitor dans différents districts.

B. Dans les écoles communales : centres d’accueil de jour

Non seulement le traitement et le soutien sont coûteux, mais souvent les parents doivent se libérer du travail pour pouvoir s’occuper de leur enfant, ce qui affecte les revenus de la famille. Les centres de jour permettent aux parents d’aller travailler pendant la journée tout en fournissant à l’enfant la thérapie et l’éducation essentielle à leur développement. Ces centres enseignent aux enfants les activités de la vie quotidienne, telles que manger, se laver etc. Les groupes de parents et la communauté sont essentiels au fonctionnement, et souvent les mères prennent des rôles actifs. Avec SGCP nous avons établi et nous soutenons plusieurs centres de jour.

C. Programmes résidentiels: Phulbari (enfants de 5 à 14 ans) et Tusa (intervention précoce 0 à 4 ans)

Phulbari et Tusa sont deux programmes que nous avons mis sur pied avec SGCP, que nous soutenons entièrement et où nous sommes directement impliqués.   Ils offrent des formations et des soins holistiques au niveau médical, thérapeutique et éducatif.  

  1. Les enfants
  • sont évalués médicalement et psychologiquement,
  • bénéficient de tous les services thérapeutiques offerts par Cerebral Palsy Nepal : physiothérapie, orthophonie, stimulation basale, etc.
  • reçoivent des programmes de stimulation et d’éducation spéciale selon leur âge et leur développement
  • reçoivent selon besoin médicaments et/ou aides spéciales …
  1. Les parents

Sont dotés de connaissances et de compétences pratiques qui leur permettront de mieux aider le développement de leur enfant une fois qu’ils rentreront à la maison. Ceci comprend :  

  • intervention thérapeutique: comment gérer et stimuler leurs enfants
  • formations: nutrition, hygiène, premiers soins, eau potable, prévention des brûlures, activités génératrices de revenus, etc.
  • réseaux: où aller pour le soutien dans leur district, etc.

Régulièrement, deux groupes de quatre enfants viennent de deux districts, ainsi que leur « home visitor » respectif.  

  1. Les « home visitor » 

Les « home visitor »  respectifs des districts participent également aux programmes, suivent les enfants et bénéficient en même temps de formations complémentaires.