Chez Caroline

Two massive earthquakes tore through Nepal on April 25th and May 12th, 2015. The estimated cost in human life exceeds 8,000 individuals, over 300,000 houses were destroyed, with countless left wounded and in need.

The French restaurant Chez Caroline opened its doors in Kathmandu in 1997. This oasis of peace and tranquility, launched by a French national, Caroline, employs a team of 22, most of whom are the original crew. The staff works to provide guests with the best hospitality and exquisite cuisine, with particular attention to quality of service. A number of the serving staff speak fluent French.

Chez Caroline’s 22 staff members come from the Sindupalchok and Dhading regions, areas that were particularly devastated by the two quakes. Many lost their village homes during the first disaster.

    They however showed courage and determination by returning quickly to work at the restaurant in the capital, organizing themselves in rolling shifts to be able to keep working, knowing that they would still need their salary to be able to rebuild and meet the needs of their loved ones.

    Before the restaurant would be allowed to open again after the events, it was key to ensure the partially damaged building was secure, to be functional in the best of conditions. In this tragic, often harrowing context, it was difficult for all to keep up with the routine of daily life. This was only possible thanks to the inspiring determination of the restaurant staff, working together to clean and secure the building.

    In order to help them in this difficult time, we wish to contribute to the construction of their homes. Many projects are currently under consideration to provide earthquake-resistant, environmentally-conscious construction work adapted to each individual region. We will closely follow those initiatives and will do our best to  guide them in their choices.

    This is, however, an emergency situation. We have decided to launch a funding campaign for the 22 families of Chez Caroline’s staff, to provide them with the help they need.

    Your contribution, whatever the amount, will be a helping hand offered to the people of this beautiful country, allowing them to stand strong in the face of disaster.

    In order to donate, kindly note there que several modalities of payment:

    A. Online secured payment through Paypal 

    B. Bank transfer towards the Foundation’s official account which details are available at « Help us » . 

    *** For each of the payment modalities, please add the objective/reference « Chez Caroline » ***

    Kindly note that only bank transfer donations are tax deductible. If you with to receive a taxation certificate, thanks for sending your postal details to the Foundation. 

    For further information, please consult our Facebook page or Chez Caroline‘s website.

Chez Caroline

Le Népal a subi deux terribles tremblements de terre les 25 avril et 12 mai derniers. Le bilan provisoire est de plus de 8 000 morts et plus de 300 000 maisons ont été détruites. Sans compter des milliers de blessés.

Le restaurant français Chez Caroline a ouvert ses portes en 1997 à Katmandou. Havre de paix et de beauté, créé par une française, le restaurant emploie 22 personnes, la plupart présentes depuis le début. Le travail de l’équipe est centré sur l’accueil, la qualité de la cuisine, et la notion de service. Certains des serveurs parlent français.

Les 22 membres de l’équipe de Chez Caroline viennent des districts de Sindupalchok et Dhading, des régions particulièrement touchées par les deux séismes. Tous ont perdu leur maison au village suite à la première secousse.

    Néanmoins, très vite et courageusement, ils ont décidé de se remettre au travail au restaurant à Katmandou, en s’organisant spontanément en roulement et ce, sans compter leurs heures ni leurs efforts, ayant conscience que sans salaire, ils ne pourraient jamais se reconstruire ni subvenir aux besoins des leurs.

    Avant la réouverture de l’établissement la priorité a été accordée a la sécurisation du restaurant partiellement endommagé, afin qu’il soit prêt à fonctionner dans les meilleures conditions. Dans ce contexte dramatique et éprouvant, retrouver un rythme de vie quasi normal n’a été possible que grâce à la force de volonté de l’équipe qui, très soudée, s’est mise au travail de nettoyage et de renforcement du bâtiment.

    Afin de les soutenir dans leur courageuse entreprise, nous voudrions contribuer à la reconstruction de chacune de leurs maisons. De nombreux projets sont actuellement à l’étude pour des reconstructions antisismiques, écologiques et adaptées à leurs régions. Nous suivons l’évolution de ces travaux et nous saurons les guider dans leurs choix.

    Mais l’urgence est là. Nous avons donc décidé de créer un fonds de solidarité pour les 22 familles de l’équipe népalaise de Chez Caroline afin de leur venir en aide du mieux possible durant ces temps difficiles.

    Votre contribution, quelle qu’elle soit, sera une pierre apportée à la reconstruction de ce si beau pays dont l’avenir reste incertain.

    Pour faire vos dons, plusieurs modalités de paiement sont disponibles:

    A. Le paiement en ligne sécurisé via Paypal 

    B. Le virement bancaire sur le compte de la Fondation dont les coordonnées sont disponibles dans la rubriqueNous Aider

    *** Pour chacune des modalités de paiement, merci d’ajouter l’objectif/référence « Chez Caroline » ***

    Les dons réalisés par virements bancaires sont déductibles des impôts. Merci de bien vouloir envoyer vos coordonnées postales à la Fondation pour une demande d’attestation fiscale.

    Pour de plus amples informations, consultez aussi la page Facebook ou le site internet de Chez Caroline.